Monday, 3 October 2016

Nobel Prize - Main Page (2016)

The Annual Nobel Prize Ceremonies, Banquets, & Concerts, in December, are the highlight of the Sweden & Norway Royal Calendar each year.

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway each year by the Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee in the presence of King Harald V of Norway, and Royal Family.

While the other Nobel Prizes are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden by King Carl XVI Gustaf, in the presence of the Royal Family.

Schedule: (All times are local Stockhom/Oslo GMT+1)
  • 10th
    • Norway 
      • Nobel Peace Prize Ceremony/ Nobel Peace Prize Lecture (1:00- 2:40 PM)
      • Nobel Peace Prize Banquet (7:30 PM)
        • No Live Stream
    • Sweden 
      • Nobel Prize Ceremony (4:30 - 6:00 PM)
      • Nobel Prize Banquet (7:00 PM)
  • 11th 
    • Norway 
      • Nobel Peace Prize Concert
    • Sweden 
      • King's Banquet for the Nobel Laureates at Palace

The 6 Awards & their 2016 Laureates are:

Physiology or Medicine

Awarded to Yoshinori Ohsumi of Japan for "his discoveries of mechanisms for autophagy."
The Prize is awarded by the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institute.

Awarded to David Thouless (1/2 share), Duncan Haldane (1/4), Michael Kosterlitz (1/4) of UK (Currently working in the USA) for "theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter,”
The Prize is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.


Awarded to Jean-Pierre Sauvage of France (1/3 share), Sir Fraser Stoddart of UK (working in USA) (1/3) and Bernard Feringa of the Netherlands (1/3) for "the design and synthesis of molecular machines."
 The Prize is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Economic Sciences

Awarded to Oliver Hart of UK (1/2 share) (working in USA) and Bengt Holmström of Finland  (1/2)(working in USA) for "their contributions to contract theory"

The Prize is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.


Awarded to Bob Dylan of USA for "having created new poetic expressions within the great American song tradition”.

 The Prize is awarded by the Swedish Institute.


Awarded to President Juan Manuel Santos of Colombia for "his resolute efforts to bring the country's more than 50-year-long civil war to an end."
The Prize is awarded by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

No comments:

Post a Comment